Message from the Chair

photo of Angela L. Morgan, DM

Angela L. Morgan, DM

  • Department Chair, Professor of Music - Violin


"I am so pleased that you have chosen to review our degree programs, faculty, and activities. The Department of Music is home to approximately 80 music majors and an outstanding faculty of 24.


We currently offer three fully NASM (National Association of Schools of Music) accredited undergraduate degree programs: Bachelor of Music in Music Education, Bachelor of Music in Performance (vocal, instrumental, piano and jazz studies) and the Bachelor of Arts in Music. We are housed in the Fine Arts Center, located next door to the Maxwell Performing Arts Theatre.


The essence of a good music program is found in its faculty. Our highly qualified and diverse faculty includes nationally renowned performers, scholars, conductors and teachers who are dedicated to inspiring and mentoring music students. We are proud of our small class sizes and the individual attention that every music student receives in our program.


Our department boasts a wide array of musical ensembles from which to choose, and these include: University Singers, Opera Ensemble, Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble, Wind Ensemble and Pep Band. Based upon an audition, membership is open to all students, regardless of major.


I hope that you will join us and contribute your energies and abilities to our dynamic program."

Faculty and Staff


Dr. Angela Morgan—Department Chair

Margie Russ—Administrative Assistant I

TrumpetDr. Anthony Kirkland

French HornDr. Joseph Johnson

Euphonium, Trombone, TubaMatthew Henderson & Dr. Isaac Brinberg

Jazz TromboneWycliffe Gordon

Choral Ensembles—Dr. Marcel Ramalho

Jazz Ensemble—Wycliffe Gordon

Opera Ensemble—Dr. Diana Thompson-Brewer

Orchestra—Dr. Robert Saunders

Wind Ensemble Pep Band—Dr. Isaac Brinberg

Flute, Saxophone—Dr. Robert Foster

ClarinetRobert Jarrell

Oboe—Kelly Odell

Bassoon—Joy Hoffman

Wycliffe Gordon in performance