We are a young enterprise — our center launched in 2022 — but we have recruited extremely bright and creative explorers of immunology. In the months ahead, we will add more resident scientists to our team.

We also embrace a collaborative mindset. Our frontline colleagues in investigation are the Augusta University affiliated scientists below. In addition, IMMCG has formed a Scientific Advisory Board of leaders in the field. Learn more about our research profile.

Resident Scientists

photo of Klaus Ley, MD

Klaus Ley, MD

  • Co-Director, IMMCG
  • Georgia Research
  • Alliance Eminent Scholar
  • Professor, Physiology
photo of Catherine C. 'Lynn' Hedrick, PhD

Catherine C. 'Lynn' Hedrick, PhD

  • Co-Director, IMMCG
  • GRA Bradley Turner Eminent Scholar
  • in Vascular & Cancer Immunology
  • Professor, Medicine

Affiliated Scientists

photo of Ahmed Chadli, PhD

Ahmed Chadli, PhD

  • Associate Professor, Medicine
  • Associate Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Associate Professor, Graduate studies
photo of Yan Cui, PhD

Yan Cui, PhD

  • Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Professor, Graduate Studies
photo of Yukai He, MD, PhD

Yukai He, MD, PhD

  • Professor, Graduate Studies
  • Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
photo of Tianxiang "Sean" Hu, PhD

Tianxiang "Sean" Hu, PhD

  • Assistant Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Assistant Professor, GCC
photo of Anand Jillella, MD

Anand Jillella, MD

  • J. Harold Harrison, MD Distinguished University Chair, Medicine
  • Professor, Medicine & Pediatrics
  • Chief, Hematology/Oncology
  • GCC Assoc. Director, Clinical Affairs
photo of Theodore Johnson, MD, PhD

Theodore Johnson, MD, PhD

  • Professor, Pediatrics
  • Professor, Graduate Studies
  • Professor, DNRM
  • Professor, Georgia Cancer Center
  • Professor, The Graduate School, Augusta University
photo of Vamsi K. Kota, MD

Vamsi K. Kota, MD

  • Associate Professor, Medicine
  • Director, Bone Marrow & Stem Cell Transplantation Program
photo of Kebin Liu, PhD

Kebin Liu, PhD

  • Professor, GCC
  • Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
photo of Santhakumar Manicassamy, PhD

Santhakumar Manicassamy, PhD

  • Professor, Medicine
photo of Nagendra Singh, PhD

Nagendra Singh, PhD

  • Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Professor, Pathology
  • Professor, The Graduate School, AU
photo of Huidong Shi, PhD

Huidong Shi, PhD

  • Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Professor, Graduate Studies
  • Member,
  • Molecular Onc. & Biomarkers Program
photo of David Munn, PhD

David Munn, PhD

  • Professor, Pediatric Oncology
  • Co-Director, Pediatric Immunotherapy Program
photo of Gang Zhou, PhD

Gang Zhou, PhD

  • Professor, GCC, Medicine
  • Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Professor, The Graduate School, AU

Scientific Advisory Board

photo of Jane Buckner, MD

Jane Buckner, MD

  • President, Benaroya Research Institute,
  • Member, Center for Translational Immunology, BRI, Seattle, Washington
photo of Mark Davis, PhD

Mark Davis, PhD

  • Director, Stanford Institute for Immunity, Transplantation & Infection
  • Burt and Marion Avery Family Professor,
  • Stanford University
photo of Marc Jenkins, PhD

Marc Jenkins, PhD

  • Regents & Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Department of Microbiology & Immunology, University of Minnesota
photo of Mariana J. Kaplan, MD

Mariana J. Kaplan, MD

  • Deputy Scientific Director, Systemic Autoimmunity Branch, NIAMS, NIH
photo of Mitch Kronenberg, PhD

Mitch Kronenberg, PhD

  • Professor and President Emeritus,
  • La Jolla Institute for Immunology

Administrative Staff

Debbie Ellison

  • Department Administrator III

Rebecca Pinkerton

  • Business Manager

Casey Brown

  • Administrative Assistant II


Jada Mister

  • Administrative Assistant II


Heather Henley

  • Director, Scientific Communications