The Richard S. Wallace Distinguished Service Award is inteded to recognize distinguished service to AU, the students, and to the community by a faculty member of one of the following colleges: Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences; Business; Education and Human Development; Nursing; Science and Mathematics; School of Computer and Cyber Sciences; and Reese Library. 

Recipients receive a plaque along with a $1,500.00 cash award.


To nominate a faculty member, write a 1-2 page letter that details the ways in which the individual has given outstanding service to our institution and community. See also the award criteria below. Submit nominations using the form found on this page. 

For the 2023-2024 award period, nominations are due by Friday, December 1, 2023 at 11:59 EST. 

Portfolio Submission

Submissions now closed

Submit Portfolio

Criteria for Award

  • All faculty who have primary appointments in one of the following colleges are eligible for the award:
    • College of Education and Human Development
    • College of Nursing
    • College of Science and Mathematics
    • James M. Hull College of Business
    • Pamplin College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
    • Reese Library
    • School of Computer and Cyber Sciences
  • Additional criteria will include (but is not limited to):
    • the unselfish offering of time, energy, and ideas
    • significant participation in a wide range of university and community activities
    • action without regard to personal benefits
    • support of service organizations and activities in leadership roles
    • projection of a positive image for the institution
    • involvement in programs addressing extraordinary concerns (e.g., handicapped, minority, disadvantaged, elderly, etc.)
    • service as a mentor within the university and the community


Upon acceptance of the nomination, nominees will submit a portfolio consisting of the following materials:

  • Cover letter and Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • Letter from department chair (or dean if nominee does not have a chair)

Award Selection Process

A Selection Committee will be appointed by the Faculty Senate using the following criteria:
  • The past year’s award recipient chairs the committee. If the previous year’s award recipient is not available to Chair, then the Senate's Faculty Development Committee Chair will solicit for a volunteer from the Senate's Faculty Development Committee to serve as chair.
  • Additional committee members consist of 2 faculty members, one student member, and 2 community representatives. 


Duties of the Selection Committee:
  • Ensure nominating agencies/individuals are reminded of deadlines and policies.
  • Work with the Office of Faculty Affairs to collect nominations and nominees’ portfolios.
  • Select award recipient. 

Past Recipients

Year Recipient
1992 Dr. Martha Farmer
1993 Dr. John Schaeffer
1994 Dr. James Garvey
1995 Dr. Harold Moon
1996 Dr. Steve Hobbs
1997 Dr. Ralph Walker
1998 Ms. Ernestine Thompson
1999 Dr. Paulette Harris
2000 Dr. Beth Fanning
2001 Dr. Richard Harrison
2002 Dr. Bill Bompart
2003 Dr. Robert Johnston
2004 Dr. Ed Pettit
2005 Dr. Raymond Whiting
2006 Dr. Debra Reddin van Tuyll
2007 "Cowboy" Mike Searles
2008 Mr. Don Howard
2009 Dr. James Garvey
2010 Dr. Bill Dodd
2011 Dr. Samuel Sullivan
2012 Dr. William A. Bloodworth, Jr.
2013 Dr. Janet (Jana) T. Sandarg
2014 N/A
2015 N/A
2016 Dr. Jean Pawl
2017 Dr. Olajide Agunloye
2018 Dr. Allison Foley
2019 Dr. Melissa Powell-Williams
2020 Dr. Hannah Bennett
2021 Dr. Pamela Hayward
2022 Dr. Ashley Gess
2023 Dr. Martha Ginn
2024 Dr. Amber Routh