Department of Medicine's Jagwire Feed

Congratulations to Dr. Thaddeus Carson who was honored as an Educator of the Year at the MCG Faculty Senate Awards Ceremony.

Welcome Dr. D. Douglas Miller, who has rejoined the Department of Medicine's Division of Cardiology with over 25 years of experience in academic medicine.

Dr. Shilpa Brown and Dr. John Fisher received the "Caught In The Act of Great Teaching" award.

Dr. William Salazar was selected to join the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Congratulations to the MCG 2017 Exemplary Teaching Award winners for their teaching efforts in the 2016-2017 academic year.

Dr. Michael Madaio, along side Dr. Clinton Webb, recently sat down to discuss the vital role in worsening hypertension with Jennie on WJBF News Channel 6.

Dr. Jillella and Dr. Kota were featured in NIH News & Events about the unique trial that aims to decrease early deaths in patients with rare leukemia. 

Internal medicine resident, Dr. Anas Raed, was featured in the Augusta Chronicle regarding a vitamin D clinical trial. 

Dr. Anand Jillella was presented with Georgia CORE's first Optimistic Oncologist Award for his highly successful research and the national roll out of EA9131.

Congratulations to Dr. Matthew Diamond and Dr. Pascha Schafer, the elected winners to serve on the Medical Executive Committee meeting beginning January 2018.

Dr. Jeremy Pantin was featured on, News Channel 6, regarding the new sickle cell disease study at MCG.

Dr. Jose Vazquez was on, News Channel 6, on how, "some tick bites can lead you in the hospital or worse".

Dr. Laura Mulloy was featured in Georgia Trend: July 2017 about the telenephrology program and service.

Dr. Jose Vazquez's article, "Taking a Bite Out of Zika", was published on July 5, 2017 in the Columbia County Magazine.

Dr. Amol Sharma received the CCRA Translation Research Grant in Parkinson's Foundation for his "Characterization of Gastrointestinal and Neuroenteric Dysfunction".

Congratulations to those who were selected to receive the 2016 MCG Exemplary Teach Award in the 2015-2016 academic year.

New patient-centric transplant center opens at AU Health

Congratulations Dr. Edward Chin for receiving the American College of Physician's GA Chapter J. Willis Hurst Outstanding Bedside Teacher Award.  

The Department of Medicine was very well represented at the MCG's Annual Faculty Award Ceremony on April 20th. Congratulations!

Dr. Laura Carbone was named as one of the new AOA officers for MCG.

AU Medical Center doctors ranked America's best 16 years in a row in Castle Connolly!

Dr. Jose Vazquez was interviewed by WRDW12 about the potential health risks caused by local flooding and sewer issues.  He speaks of the exposure to raw sewage and the risks of infectious disease. 

Dr. William Salazar was selected as the national award winner of the American College of Physician's (ACP) W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity and Access to Care. The award will be presented March 31, 2017. 

Congratulations Dr. Edward Chin for receiving the American College of Physician's GA Chapter J. Willis Hurst Outstanding Bedside Teacher Award.  

The Translational Research Program mentored or facilitated 9 trainee abstracts accepted for presentation (8 orals, 1 poster) at the Southern AFMR in Feb 2017.

Dr. William Davis chaired one of the meeting sessions at the 61st Tri-State Consecutive Case Conference at Ponte Vedra, FL entitled "Five Consecutive Cases of Nontuberculous Mycobacterial Disease (NTM)". 

Dr. Sebastian Larion was selected out of 106 applicants to receive the 2016 Emerging Liver Scholars Award.  He will be joining 34 other recipients at The Liver Meeting, hosted by the AASLD Emerging Liver Scholars program in Boston, MA. 

The Cardiology Fellowship program at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University is the recipient of the 2016 Spirit of the Heart Diversity in Cardiology Award from the Association  Black Cardiologists.

Dr. Pamela Tipler was officially accepted as a 2016 Fellow in the EII's Faculty Development Fellowship - Educational Research Track by the Educational Innovation Institute.

Dr. Brian Le, rheumatology fellow, gives credit to an excellent mentor, Dr. Laura Carbone, and the Rheumatology Research Foundation preceptorship, to help guide his career.  

Dr. Lavanya Viswanathan is the recipient of one of the two GA ACP Chapter's Outstanding Resident Award for Volunteerism and Advocacy for 2016. 

Dr. Laura Mulloy's clinical research of, "A Randomized Trial to Reduce Disparities in Referral for Transplant Evaluation", was published in the Journal of the American Society of Nephrology.  

Congratulations to Dr. Pascha Schafer named Emerging Advocate for the American College of Cardiology's inaugural class.  Dr. Schafer was also voted in as a member of the Georgia Council of the ACC.

Augusta Chronicle Staff Writer, Tom Corwin, announced a specific finding from students at Medical College of Georgia presented at Augusta University during the 8th Annual Medical Scholars Research Day.  

Dr. Stuart Thompson was recently appointed to two DOD grant review boards for condition that impact Military forces.

Dr. Satish Rao was featured on Men's Health Article: "Ask A Doctor: I Constantly Burp. How Much Is Too Much?"